PMP Certification – Summary of new changes in PMBOK 5 – Part-1

Hello friends!!

On this page, I’ll start a series of posts on PMP certification based on PMBOK 5. 

Hope you are aware that pmbok has been changed/updates recently. Here we will very briefly have a look on the key points/changes in new
PMBOK 5. If you are planning to go for PMP certification, below information
will be useful-

    PMBOK 5 has been released in Jan 2013 and available
in market to purchase.

    PMBOK 5 will take effect on 31st
July 2013 (for Exam purpose). If you are planning to sit for exam ON or AFTER 31st
July 2013, it’ll be based on PMBOK 5.

PMBOK 5 comes with few changes (not major), which are very
briefly described in this post. These changes makes PMBOK 5 even more easier
and simple to read/understand.

In PMBOK 4 – There was 5 Process Groups + 9 Knowledge Areas + 42 Processes

In PMBOK 5 – There are 5 Process Groups + 10 Knowledge Areas + 47 Processes

In Brief:- 

1 Knowledge Area has been added

Stakeholders Management

5 new processes have been added

Plan Scope Management

Plan Cost Management

Plan Schedule Management

Plan Stakeholder Management

Control Stakeholder Engagement

Also, few process names have been modified. 

Below diagram shows all the 47 processes and 10 knowledge areas in PMBOK 5.

I’ll soon start posting detailed posts on common points like “How to clear PMP”, “What kind of preparation/study plan required”, “What study materiel is best” etc.

I encourage you to post your comments and let me know what you want me to include in the series of posts.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top